Go to Top

#HeyDish, How Do I Share bookmarks Between Computers With Google Chrome?

I, truly, work in a virtual office…which I adore. Being “synced” at all times is especially important. I can work on my iPad or cell phone in the middle of night when an idea crashes in on my sleep. I am often setting up a work station at a client site in several locations throughout the week. But, at any given time, I may come across some great information on a website that I save as a bookmark so I can read it later.

By signing in to Chrome on all of my devices, I have access to all of my bookmarks and any given time, on any of my devices.

Sign in to Chrome

You can sign in to Chrome to access browser settings, such as bookmarks and apps, that have been synced to your Google Account. It is important to Chrome on each computer that should share the same Chrome settings.

Follow these steps to sign in:

  1. Open your Google Chrome browser.
  2. Click the Chrome menu on the browser toolbar.
  3. Select Sign in to Chrome
  4. Sign in to your Google Account in the dialog that appears.
  5. In the “Confirm sync settings” dialog that appears, choose what you want to sync.
    • Sync everything: Click the “OK, sync everything” button.
    • Choose specific items to sync: Click “Advanced” and select “Choose what to sync” from the drop down menu. Select the checkboxes for the items you want to sync.
      • Appsfrom the Chrome Web Store
      • Autofill (except for credit card numbers)
      • Bookmarks
      • Extensions from the Chrome Web Store (except those containing plug-ins)
      • History
      • Passwords
      • Themes
      • Open tabs
      • Settings
  1. Optional: Advanced encryption settings
    • By default, your passwords are encrypted with your Google Account credentials. You may choose to encrypt all your synced data with your own sync passphrase.

If you change your encryption method on one computer, you might receive a sync error notification on other computers where you’re syncing your data. Enter the new sync passphrase on other computers to resolve the error.

  1. Click OK.

If you’ve previously created a sync passphrase to encrypt your data, you’ll be asked to provide the passphrase. If you forget your passphrase, you’ll need to reset sync via the Google Dashboard.

More information

If you share your browser with multiple people, add them as Chrome users so everyone can maintain their own browser settings, including bookmarks, apps, extensions, and theme.

Remember, don’t sign in to Chrome with your Google Account on a public or untrusted computer. When you sign in to Chrome with your Google Account, a copy of your data is stored on the computer you’re using and can be accessed by other people on the same computer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *